Skip to content

Best table of contents apps for Shopify, compared (2026)

Ahoi Apps team · Updated · 5 min read · How we test

Last verified . We make some of the apps on this page. Prices and ratings come from each app’s Shopify App Store listing.How we compare

Quick answer

A table of contents app turns a post's headings into a linked list. All five here do that on blog posts; they differ on product pages, mobile and price. Most reviews: RuffRuff. Mobile drawer and a 30-day trial: Easy Table of Contents 2.0. Free, blog only: Smart Table of Contents. $12 once: Tocito. Every page type for the lowest price: Auto TOC (ours, $1.99/month).

Side by side

  1. 01

    RuffRuff Table of Contents

    Best for
    The most reviews and a free blog plan
    Price
    Free; Light $3.99/mo ($39.60/yr); Regular $9.99/mo ($99.60/yr)
    Free plan / trial
    Free plan (blogs); 3-day trial
    Rating (reviews)
    4.8 (17)
    Launched
    Dec 2022
    Product, collection, page TOC
    Regular plan ($9.99)
    Mobile
    Show/hide button, visible-item limit, “Show all”
    Extras
    Custom Liquid above/below, numbering and indentation, title translation, no branding on paid; English and Japanese
    Built for Shopify
    Yes
  2. 02

    Easy Table of Contents 2.0

    Best for
    A mobile drawer and a 30-day trial
    Price
    Free; Essential $1.99/mo; Extended $3.99/mo or $39.99/yr
    Free plan / trial
    Free plan (articles, top position); 30-day trial
    Rating (reviews)
    4.8 (13)
    Launched
    Jan 2022
    Product, collection, page TOC
    Extended plan ($3.99)
    Mobile
    Slide-out drawer on Essential and up
    Extras
    JSON-LD, per-page settings, folding, in-TOC product promotions on Extended
    Built for Shopify
    No
  3. 03

    Smart Table of Contents

    Best for
    Free, blog only
    Price
    Free
    Free plan / trial
    Free
    Rating (reviews)
    5.0 (1)
    Launched
    May 2026
    Product, collection, page TOC
    No, blog only
    Mobile
    Not stated
    Extras
    Active-section highlight on scroll, shareable anchor links, styled in the theme editor
    Built for Shopify
    No
  4. 04

    Tocito

    Best for
    Blog only, $12 once
    Price
    $1/mo, $10/yr or $12 once
    Free plan / trial
    7-day trial
    Rating (reviews)
    No reviews yet
    Launched
    Jun 2026
    Product, collection, page TOC
    No, blog only
    Mobile
    Separate desktop and mobile layouts
    Extras
    JSON-LD, exclude selected posts, custom CSS, animated markers
    Built for Shopify
    No
  5. 05

    Auto TOC: Blog SEO & Nav Ours

    Best for
    Every page type for $1.99/month, heading levels you choose
    Price
    Free; $1.99/mo, $19.90/yr or $39.90 once
    Free plan / trial
    Free plan (blogs); 7-day free trial
    Rating (reviews)
    No reviews yet
    Launched
    Sep 2025
    Product, collection, page TOC
    Paid plan ($1.99/month)
    Mobile
    Same list on both; no drawer yet
    Extras
    Pick heading levels H1–H6, show on selected articles or all, Online Store 2.0 and vintage themes
    Built for Shopify
    No

Prices and ratings from each app’s Shopify App Store listing on . Ratings change daily; the links go to the live listings.

What a table of contents app does, and what it doesn’t

Every app here does the same core job: find the H2 and H3 headings in a post, give each an anchor, and show a linked list near the top. Readers jump to the part they came for, and a long guide stops feeling long. That’s it; the rest is where they differ:

  1. Which pages. Blog posts on every app. Product descriptions, collection descriptions and store pages only on some, and usually on a paid plan.
  2. Mobile. A list of twelve links on a phone pushes the post down a screen. Collapsible lists, a visible-item limit or a slide-out drawer fix that.
  3. Styling. All of them let you set colors and fonts; a few add numbering, indentation, hover styles and custom CSS.
  4. Control. Which heading levels count, which posts are excluded, per-article settings.
  5. Markup. Two apps add JSON-LD for the navigation. Google’s sitelinks under a result (“Jump to…”) come from the anchors and headings in the HTML, not from a schema type, so treat the markup as a nice-to-have rather than a ranking lever.

What no app does: make a post rank. A table of contents helps readers stay and helps Google show jump links; the post still has to answer the question. See how to add a table of contents to a Shopify blog for the manual route and when an app is worth it.

Left out: Jump Links ‑ Table of Contents ($1.99/mo, 2.0 stars from 4 reviews). Its extra is related products under the post, which is a different job.

RuffRuff Table of Contents

Best for: stores that want the most-reviewed app in this group, and a free plan for blog posts.

Launched December 2022 by Tsun, 17 reviews at 4.8, Built for Shopify. The free plan covers blog posts with design, position and a live preview. Light at $3.99 adds the show/hide button, a partial list with “Show all”, custom Liquid above and below the list (banners, videos, related links), hover underline, translated titles and removes the branding. Regular at $9.99 adds products, collections and pages. The listing is in English and Japanese.

Limits: products, collections and pages cost $9.99 a month, against $3.99 for Easy Table of Contents 2.0 and $1.99/month for ours. The trial is three days.

Easy Table of Contents 2.0

Best for: stores that read mostly on phones and want a slide-out drawer, with a month to try it.

Launched January 2022 by Bestdecoders, 13 reviews at 4.8. The free plan generates a list for unlimited articles, fixed at the top, with basic styling and JSON-LD. Essential at $1.99 adds every position, the mobile drawer, folding and indentation, and per-page settings. Extended at $3.99 (or $39.99 a year) adds pages, collections and products plus product promotions inside the list. 30-day free trial on the paid plans, the longest here. The listing stresses vanilla JavaScript with no dependencies.

Limits: two of the 13 reviews are one star; read them before you install. The free plan’s list sits at the top only.

Smart Table of Contents

Best for: a free list on blog posts, nothing else.

Launched May 2026, one review at 5.0, free with no plans. It reads H2 and H3 headings on every blog article, is styled in the theme editor, highlights the section the reader is in as they scroll, and gives each heading a shareable anchor link. Works on Online Store 2.0 themes.

Limits: blog articles only, one review, no pricing means no stated roadmap. Fine for a blog; not for a store that wants a list on product pages.

Tocito

Best for: stores that want a blog-only list with separate phone and desktop layouts, paid once.

Launched June 2026 by Pompych Studio, no reviews yet. $1 a month, $10 a year, or $12 once. Separate desktop and mobile layouts, live preview, exclude selected posts, custom CSS, animated markers and JSON-LD navigation markup. In-app chat and email support.

Limits: blog posts only, and no reviews yet. The $12 lifetime price is the cheapest way to own a table of contents, if blogs are all you need.

Auto TOC: Blog SEO & Nav (ours)

Best for: stores that want the list on blog posts, products, collections and pages for the lowest price, and control over which heading levels show.

Auto TOC: Blog SEO & Nav launched in September 2025 and has no reviews yet. The free plan covers blog posts with design and position settings. The paid plan, $1.99/month, $19.90/year or $39.90 once, adds products, collections and pages. You pick which heading levels count (H1 to H6), show the list on selected articles or everywhere, and style it in the theme editor. It works on Online Store 2.0 and vintage themes, which the newer apps don’t claim.

Auto TOC settings: checkboxes for the heading levels H1 to H6 that go into the table of contents
Heading-level picker in the app settings

Limits, honestly: no reviews yet; we launched it late 2025 and haven’t asked for any. No mobile drawer and no collapsible list, so a post with twenty headings shows twenty links on a phone. No active-section highlight, no JSON-LD. If the phone layout matters most, pick Easy Table of Contents 2.0 or Tocito. If you want the list on every page type for $1.99/month instead of $3.99 or $9.99, pick ours.

Which table of contents app should you pick?

If you want Pick
The most reviews and a free blog plan RuffRuff Table of Contents
A mobile drawer and a 30-day trial Easy Table of Contents 2.0
Free, blog only Smart Table of Contents
Blog only, $12 once Tocito
Every page type for $1.99/month, heading levels you choose Auto TOC: Blog SEO & Nav

If your posts are under 800 words, you don’t need any of them. A table of contents on a short post is a list of three links above a page that fits on one screen.

How we compared

Facts come from each app’s Shopify App Store listing on 1 Nov 2026: prices, plans, trials, ratings, review counts, launch dates, feature lists and the Built for Shopify badge as shown on the listing. We read the listings and the developers’ documentation. Our app is listed last and judged by the same table. Where a listing doesn’t state something, the table says “Not stated”. More on how we test.

FAQ

Does Shopify have a built-in table of contents for blog posts?

No. Shopify's blog editor has headings but no table of contents block. You add one with theme code (anchors on headings plus a list) or an app.

Does a table of contents help SEO?

Indirectly. Anchored headings let Google show "Jump to" sitelinks under your result, and readers who find their section stay longer. It doesn't rank a post on its own.

Can I show a table of contents on product pages?

With RuffRuff (Regular plan), Easy Table of Contents 2.0 (Extended) and Auto TOC (paid plan). Smart Table of Contents and Tocito are blog only.

Which table of contents app is free?

Smart Table of Contents is free. RuffRuff, Easy Table of Contents 2.0 and Auto TOC have free plans for blog posts and charge for more page types or features.

Do I need JSON-LD for a table of contents?

No. Google's jump links come from the anchors and headings in the HTML. Easy Table of Contents 2.0 and Tocito add JSON-LD anyway; it doesn't hurt.

Will the table of contents slow my store down?

A table of contents is a small script or a theme app block. All five apps here are light; check your Lighthouse score before and after in the trial if you want proof.

Related